About Baghpat

Chhaprauli Baghpat UP

District Bagpat is one of the districts of Uttar Pradesh. The city is located on the bank of river Yamuna. It was originally known as ‘Vyagprastha’ - Land of Tigers, because of the population of tigers found many centuries ago. Later on it was changed to Bagpat.

The main commercial activity of the people living in this region is making and selling GUD and Sugar. Apart from this, there are certain units who are involved in the making of shoes and agricultural equipment's.

History of Baghpat

Chhaprauli Baghpat UP

It was founded by the Pandava brothers of Mahabharata as Vyagprastha. Barnava, near Binauliis the site of the Lakshagriha, the lac palace that was built by Mayasura, the demon architect, to kill the Pandavas. The district has a strong presence of Jainism.

Bada Gaon is an important pilgrimage center for Jains. It is located near the town of Khekra. Here is a place called pakke ghat, where one of the popular Shankaracharya Swami Savroopanandji had got jnana.

Geography of Baghpat

District Baghpat is one of the district of West Uttar Pradesh.The city is Located on the banks of river Yamuna.It is 52 km from Meerut City and is on the main Delhi – Saharanpur Highway around 40 km from Delhi.

In the north of the district Baghpat there is district Muzaffarnagar,in the south district Ghaziabad,in the west river Yamuna and district Rohtak of Harayana.

The shape of the district Baghpat is rectangular and its area is more in north to south than east to west.It is very closely located to (around 40 km) the national capital New Delhi.

Select District

Map TipsTip :
Roll over your mouse on Districts and you will get the District Profile for Selected District.
map Saharanpur Bijnor Meerut Amroha Rampur Gautam Budh Nagar Bareilly Pilibhit Lakhimpur Shahjahanpur Budaun Bahraich Shravasti Sitapur Hardoi Farrukhabad Aligarth Hathras Bulandshahr Mathura Agra Balrampur Sidharth Nagar Santkabir Nagar Maharajganj Kushinagar Gorakhpur Deoria Ballia Ghazipur Mau Azamgarh Ambedkar Nagar Basti Gonda Faizabad Barabanki Lucknow Unnao Kanpur Dehat Kanpur Nagar Auraiya Etawah Kannauj Mainpuri Firozabad Lalitpur Jhansi Jalaun Mahoba Hamirpur Banda Fatehpur Raibareilly Chitrakoot Allahabad Mirzapur Sonbhadra Chandauli Varanasi Sant Ravidas Nagar Jaunpur Kaushambi Pratapgarh Shamali Muzaffarnagar Baghpat Ghaziabad Hapur Moradabad Sambhal Etah Kasganj Amethi Sultanpur

Note: Above map has been kept just for graphical representation to provide easy user navigation and it’s not presenting or associated with any political boundaries.

Go to Navigation