Sant Ravidas Nagar

About Sant Ravidas Nagar

Sitamarhi (or Sitamadhi) ,Sant Ravidas Nagar

Sant Ravidas Nagar (Bhadohi) is known by the name Carpet city as it is home to the largest hand-knotted carpet weaving industry hubs in South Asia. The Indian Institute of Carpet Technology, the only Institute of its kind in Asia was established here by the Ministry of Textiles in 2001.

History of Sant Ravidas Nagar

This place gets its name from Bhar Raj of the region which had Bhadohi as its capital. There are several mounds and old tanks that have been named after the Bhar rulers, a tributary of Kannauj kingdom. During the rule of Akbar, Bhadohi was made a Dastur and included in the Sarkar of Allahabad. Bhadohi in 1911 came under the first Maharaja of the newly created princely state of Benares ruled by Maharaja Prabhu Narayan Singh.

Sant Ravidas Nagar at a Glance

Sant Ravidas Nagar district is situated in the planes of the river Ganges, with it's borders touching districts like Allahabad, Varanasi, Mirjapur and Jaunpur, simultaneously. This district is famous for it's carpets in India and abroad. It's area is 1055.99 sq. kms.

Year of Formation 30th June 1994
Area 1055.99 sq. kms.
Latitude 25.12° to 25.32° North
Longitude 82.12o to 82.42o East.
No. of Tehsil 3
No. of Blocks 6
No. of Villages 1224
Postal Code 211003
Std Code 5414

Select District

Map TipsTip :
Roll over your mouse on Districts and you will get the District Profile for Selected District.
map Saharanpur Bijnor Meerut Amroha Rampur Gautam Budh Nagar Bareilly Pilibhit Lakhimpur Shahjahanpur Budaun Bahraich Shravasti Sitapur Hardoi Farrukhabad Aligarth Hathras Bulandshahr Mathura Agra Balrampur Sidharth Nagar Santkabir Nagar Maharajganj Kushinagar Gorakhpur Deoria Ballia Ghazipur Mau Azamgarh Ambedkar Nagar Basti Gonda Faizabad Barabanki Lucknow Unnao Kanpur Dehat Kanpur Nagar Auraiya Etawah Kannauj Mainpuri Firozabad Lalitpur Jhansi Jalaun Mahoba Hamirpur Banda Fatehpur Raibareilly Chitrakoot Allahabad Mirzapur Sonbhadra Chandauli Varanasi Sant Ravidas Nagar Jaunpur Kaushambi Pratapgarh Shamali Muzaffarnagar Baghpat Ghaziabad Hapur Moradabad Sambhal Etah Kasganj Amethi Sultanpur

Note: Above map has been kept just for graphical representation to provide easy user navigation and it’s not presenting or associated with any political boundaries.

Go to Navigation