About Shahjahanpur

Hanumat Dham at Visrat Ghat Shahjahanpur

Shahjahanpur city is established by Shri Diler Khan and Shri Bahadur Khan sons of Shri Dariya Khan who was a soldier in the army of Mugal Emperor Jahangeer. Both, Shri Diler Khan and Shri Bahadur Khan were dignitary in the regime of Shahjahan. After, pleasing with the services of Shri Dilerkhan, Shahjahan gifted 14 villages with the permission to construct a Fort. Diler Khan developed a fort in "Nainar Khera Village" which was situated on the rivers Garrah and Khannaut. He also established 52 type of Pathan's Caste. Today, most of the mohallas are on the name of these castes.

Like Shahjahanpur city,Tilhar was developed by "Rajput - Tirlok Chandra".This is the oldest town of the district. Due to supply of "Bows" to the Military, this town was called as "Teer Kaman Nagar". Shri Mangal Khan who was a Nazim of Hafiz Rehmat Ali Khan Nawab Rohil established a Fort in village "MANSURPUR" near "TILHAR"

He and his family members possessed it upto first freedom struggle of 1857.Later, British Government occupied it and converted it in Tehsil and Police Station.

District Shahjahanpur is situated in South East of Rohilkhand Division. It was established in 1813.Before its creation it was a part of district Bareilly. Geographically, it is situated at 27.35 N Latitude and 79.37 E longitude. Adjoining districts of the Shahjahanpur are Lakhimpur Khiri, Hardoi, Farrukhabad, Bareilly, Budaun & Pilibhit. Geographical Area of it is 4575 Sq. kilometer. This is a agriculture based district of Uttar Pradesh. Ramganga, Garrah & Gomti are the main rivers of district. Kathana, Jhukma & Mensiare are the attached rivers of Gomti. Garrah is the main river. Khannaut, Suketa and Kai are the attached rivers of Garrah. Flood - mostly effects Jalalabad Tehsil. Major crops of the district are Wheat, Gram, Millet & Potato.

Shahjahanpur at a Glance

It Consists of 4 Tehsils, 15 Blocks, 922 Gram Panchayats, 1 Constituency and 6 Assembly Area. The details of Tehsils, Blocks, Constituency and Assembly Area is given below:

Assembly Constituencies of Shahjahanpur
S.NO Name of Tehsil
1 Sadar
2 Tilhar
3 Jalalabad
4 Powayan
Blocks of Shahjahanpur
1 Banda
2 Khutar
3 Powayan
4 Sindhauli
5 Katra
6 Jaitipur
7 Tilhar
8 Nigohi
9 Kanth
10 Dadraul
11 Bhawalkhera
12 Madnapur
13 Kalan
14 Mirzapur
15 Jalalabad
Parliament Constituency of Shahjahanpur
1 27- Shahjahanpur
Assembly Constituencies of Shahjahanpur
1 131- Katra
2 132- Jalalabad
3 133- Tilhar
4 134- Powayan
5 135- Shahjahanpur
6 136- Dadraul

Select District

Map TipsTip :
Roll over your mouse on Districts and you will get the District Profile for Selected District.
map Saharanpur Bijnor Meerut Amroha Rampur Gautam Budh Nagar Bareilly Pilibhit Lakhimpur Shahjahanpur Budaun Bahraich Shravasti Sitapur Hardoi Farrukhabad Aligarth Hathras Bulandshahr Mathura Agra Balrampur Sidharth Nagar Santkabir Nagar Maharajganj Kushinagar Gorakhpur Deoria Ballia Ghazipur Mau Azamgarh Ambedkar Nagar Basti Gonda Faizabad Barabanki Lucknow Unnao Kanpur Dehat Kanpur Nagar Auraiya Etawah Kannauj Mainpuri Firozabad Lalitpur Jhansi Jalaun Mahoba Hamirpur Banda Fatehpur Raibareilly Chitrakoot Allahabad Mirzapur Sonbhadra Chandauli Varanasi Sant Ravidas Nagar Jaunpur Kaushambi Pratapgarh Shamali Muzaffarnagar Baghpat Ghaziabad Hapur Moradabad Sambhal Etah Kasganj Amethi Sultanpur

Note: Above map has been kept just for graphical representation to provide easy user navigation and it’s not presenting or associated with any political boundaries.

Go to Navigation